Deacon Eldred House
The Town of Sandwich Planning Department is overseeing the planning and future of the Deacon Eldred House to help preserve this important historical piece of our Town and region. Information, as available, will be posted here.
Deacon Eldred House 4 Water St.
The Deacon Eldred House, at 4 Water Street, Sandwich was built originally in 1756 on the site of an earlier 17th century home. The Thornton Burgess Museum occupied the building until 2013. The house contributes greatly to the Town Hall Square Historic District, and is located within the Old King’s Highway Regional Historic District. The Massachusetts Historical Commission holds a preservation restriction on the property.”
Sandwich was settled in 1637, as an agricultural village. It was the first settlement on Cape Cod, and was incorporated only two years later. Approximately 60 families were among the group that originally arrived. Today, there are seventy-five extant 18th century homes in Sandwich, but only nine from the 17th century. This makes 4 Water Street a unique site, in that it consistently housed at least one family for more than 330 years. *
4 Water Street 2015
* McGinley Kalsow & Associates Inc., Assessment Report June 2015.
The Town of Sandwich is accepting proposals for the purchase of 4 Water Street, the Deacon Eldred House. The Town will give preference to those applications which intend to maintain the property as a residence and who demonstrate a commitment to preserve, restore and rehabilitate the building in strict accordance with the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation of Historic Structures. Any proposed additions to the property will be subject to the same standards.
Click the following link to the RFP - Link
The Town of Sandwich anticipates issuance of the Request For Proposals (RFP) late February 2022. Any questions regarding the RFP or the property should be directed to Ralph Vitacco, Director of Planning & Economic Development, (508) 833-8001.